Mystery of the Beef Commercial: Solved(?)

26 Aug

A generally positive review of Minnesota Lunch in the Farmington Independent may lay to rest the question of how the open-faced mashed potatoes and beef sandwich known as a beef commercial got its name.

Some restauranteurs, including my parents, called them “commercials,” but the authors of “Minnesota Lunch” can’t seem to figure out why and spend lots of time debating. I’ll settle the argument:

My father told me that our restaurant called them commercials because it was a favorite order from traveling salesmen, “commercial people.”

And my father wasn’t even a food writer. So there.

Sassy, but fascinating. I guess I’ll call it “sassinating.”

Leave a Reply

